top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejrdeleeuw

6 Months Deep


We are six months deep into our time here in Zambia. Half a year, and half way over. The mere thought of boarding a plane back to Canada brings tears to my eyes. It’s not that I don’t miss home – I do. There is plenty to miss about home, especially the people (we love you guys!). One of our kids mentioned they miss the squeak of the hardwood floor in our hallway back home 😊. But our hearts have forever been changed from our time abroad. So here are some reflections about our first six months in Africa.


From the kids:

- I used to stare at everything, but now I don’t

- When we still lived in Canada, I was nervous to move, and now I realize I should not have been

- I was worried I wouldn’t have super close friends, but the kids are loving and open

- So many people sell things on the side of the road (even on the highway)

- I love hanging out with my friends here – playing cards and going for walks

- The time is going too fast, but at the same time I want to go home

- I will miss so many people

- I love playing cops and robbers on skateboards


From me (Renae):


Zambia is a very friendly country, and we’re very grateful it is safe, as well. There is a strong sense of community here – people working with and helping their neighbors - it’s beautiful to see. There also seems to be a willingness for family members to help and support one another, like a 20 year old sending a portion of their paycheck every month to help out an aunt who cannot support herself.


Since we arrived, the people here have been stealing bits and pieces of my heart. Some relationships formed quickly – like with the charismatic teenager who loves to joke around, play sports together and smile that perfect smile. Some relationships are light and casual – like the boy who loves to hide around corners just to scare me. Some of the kids love a hand to hold, and arm around their shoulders and a tight hug goodnight. Some prefer a head nod and a fist pump. Some write letters on the daily. Some don’t say much, but can always be found sitting and listening. Each child has their own story to tell, and each child is special in their own way. Meaningful connections always take time, and I love that we’ve been given that time to build these relationships. They have led to some wonderful conversations about life, personal history, the future, peer pressure and faith.


While there has been an overwhelming amount of good, there has also been a fair share of hard times. There have been some days where my heart aches to be home (I’d love to meet my newest niece and cuddle her as she sleeps). It’s heartbreaking hearing stories of past traumas. Just yesterday, I had a young girl sit beside me and tell me she sometimes cries when she thinks about her mom who has passed away. She said she also misses her sibling who died shortly after her mom. She ended with, “I want to come back to Canada with you.” Ugh, so hard! We’ve witnessed a brawl. We’ve sat with crying children who are inconsolable, and aching for family members. We have seen many children on the streets, selling items or begging, just so they will have something to eat. Even these hard situations are shaping. They are teaching gratefulness, compassion, empathy, generosity and patience.


To sum it up – this has been the most beautiful, and also most difficult, thing I’ve ever done in my life. It’s been eye-opening, and educational. It’s been hard work and stepping outside of my comfort zone. It’s been heart-warming. I love the diversity of people I’ve gotten to know, and wish that I could load the plane full and bring them all home with me. If only it worked that way. My eyes are open to the privilege we have of living in Canada. One of our kids stated, “It was hard coming here, but it’s going to be even harder going back home” – and I think they hit the nail right on the head with that one.


We are more than OVER THE MOON that my parents will be coming in a few days. It will be so wonderful to have a slice of home out here. If you pray, could you please pray for smooth and safe travels for them. Please pray for street kids who are in need of a safe and loving place, that they will find their way to Grace. Pray for the kids who are grieving, that they will have someone with whom they can open up and share these feelings with. Pray for the kids who feel anger and resentment, that they will be able to channel these feelings in a healthy way, and work through the root of the anger. Pray for the kids who feel like they don’t fit in, that they may find a close friend or two, to come alongside them in their journey. Pray for us, as we spend our days here, that we may overflow with God’s love in all our interactions.


Thank you. Your support means the world to us!


Love R


416 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page