top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejrdeleeuw

A Fresh Start



2022 – the start of another year. There is something about the turning of a new year that is refreshing and clean. It’s the start of 365 days of new possibilities. Every New Years Eve, it has been our tradition to choose a theme word for the coming year. It may be something you strive do better at, or just a reminder for the year ahead. In the past I’ve had words like ‘discover’, ‘breathe’ and ‘hospitality’. I won’t get in to the meanings behind those words, but this year I have chosen ‘words’ as my theme.


‘Words’ is broad, and I like that about it. It encompasses affirmation and encouragement. It includes expressing myself, spreading knowledge, and being vulnerable. I want to work at spreading God’s love through my words – by telling the people I love that I love them more often, by speaking a compliment to a stranger instead of just thinking it, by telling a child I am proud of them for what they’ve accomplished, or thanking someone for their thoughtfulness. I want to be more open about both the ups and downs of life. I want to spread awareness and knowledge – both about Seeds of Hope, and other things.


Do you set New Years resolutions, or come up with a theme word? I challenge you to give it a try. Let’s be intentional about how we spend our days. Let’s work toward spreading joy, peace and love in our lives. The world could sure use a little more of that these days!


We spent out New Years Eve swimming with the Mwaiseni group. The night before I was awake, on and off, between 2-4 a.m. because of the heavy rains (I cannot sleep through the noise on the tin roof!). I was fretting that we’d get rained out of swimming the next day, but in the morning, the clouds had emptied themselves, and we had perfect weather! The afternoon passed too quickly! After dinner, Jon and Dave had a fireworks show at the playing field. What a lovely way to cap off 2021. I’m excited for all God has in store for us in 2022!


Hope your 2022 is off to a good start, too!

Love, Renae

299 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page