top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejrdeleeuw

God is Good - All the Time. All the Time - God is Good!

Back in Canada, it was Thanksgiving Long Weekend. It is a time of year to pause and reflect on God’s goodness in the past year. It is a time of gathering and celebrating with family and friends. Last night, we gathered, with fellow Canadians (Dave & Shannon & Evan & Trinda), and enjoyed a delicious Thanksgiving spread. We each took a few minutes to list what we were thankful for in the last year.


I love reflecting on the past year. It’s wild to look back one year and see how God has led us to where we are now! Last October, Zambia wasn’t even on our radar! And yet, here we are! We are only 2 months in, and it’s already been a life-changing experience. Our time here is changing and shaping each one of our family members!


Today, I am thankful for family. I have always seen family as a blessing, but I think it’s just that much more evident this year. Being around and knowing so many people who don’t know the joy and security of family makes me that much more thankful. Being an ocean apart from our family makes the desire to be with them even stronger! Do me a favor, and tell your family how much they mean to you!


I am thankful for friends … friends whom I’ve known for years and years, and friendships that have just been formed. I’ve never had to meet so many people in such a short span of time. While it was initially overwhelming, I love the people here, and can’t imagine not knowing them! I love sharing common interests, and sharing our joys and sorrows. I love diving deep into meaningful conversations over steaming cups of coffee. Do me a favor, and let your friends know how much they mean to you!


I am thankful for Seeds of Hope. If you can't already tell, I really can’t say enough good things about the work being done here. It is an absolute privilege to be involved with it, and witness things here first-hand! Do me a favor, and support Seeds of Hope, whether it be by spreading awareness, by prayer or donation! Such a worthy cause!


I am thankful to God for equipping our family to be out here. There have been so many times over the last 2 months where I’ve sat back and thought, “That’s all God!”. I could never have done that on my own strength! For example, I thrive on routine, and big changes typically stress me out. All throughout our planning to come to Africa, God wrapped me in an incredible blanket of peace, that could only come from Him. I kept waiting for the peace to wear off, and the stress to creep in...but He stayed right there with me. There have been plenty of challenging situations out here that I’ve had to lean on God, and He’s given me the peace, strength or guidance needed! God is good – all the time. All the time- God is good!


Those are just a few of the things I'm thankful for this year. But enough about me. I’d love to hear about you! Dear readers, what are you thankful for? Share it in the comments, email it over, or FB message me. I’d love to hear some of your positivity!




“The more grateful I am, the more beauty I see!” – Mary Davis


Till the next post!

Love Renae

389 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page