top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejrdeleeuw

Simple Joys

Hello all! Although my photo supply is minimal, I figured it was time for another post! Things here at Seeds of Hope are busy, and we find the days flying by with each passing week. I started tutoring three afternoons a week, which certainly adds to how quickly each day goes by. A few of you have asked what I do with my own kids when I am tutoring, and the answer is our amazing housekeeper! She does our laundry, dishes, cleaning (& more), and she also spends time coloring or playing games with the kids, so that I can be free to help in the school. As a family, we are so grateful for her kindness & gentleness, and how loving she is with all four of our kids.


Last week, Shannon, Trinda, Sharissa and myself enjoyed a lovely ladies morning out. It included Mint (a delicious coffee shop), and shopping at the Masala Market.

The market was so interesting. So many shops! You could find anything from shoes, avocados, dried beans, kids clothes, fish...tons of options! It was packed...both with sellers and buyers. I found it one of those things that really felt like I was in a whole different world! There was so much to take in - sights, sounds & smells - everyway we turned!



Fresh chicken for dinner!

I thought this lady really represented the Masala Market well. All her items for sale are spread out around her, and she's perched on her 'booth' waiting on customers.

The farm recently got 1,000 new little chicks. They are still fluffy, soft and cute, so we thought we'd seize the opportunity for a few pictures before they lose their youthfulness. Jon was in his element setting up and prepping for these birds!


Jon has been working long days on the farm. He's been busy doing things like organizing the shop, prepping and pouring concrete between two storage containers, butchering pigs with farm staff,

and overseeing 800 meters of irrigation trench being dug by hand. Although the days are busy, it is fulfilling work.

Dave, the Construction Manager, completed his 200th week of construction work at Seeds of Hope! What a huge milestone! We had a lovely evening celebrating at Mwaiseni. Dave and Shannon have been incredible neighbors to us, and we are so grateful for their friendship! I've titled Shannon "Chief of Wellness" because she has such a gift at making people feel comfortable, loved and heard. Thanks D & S for all the love and dedication you pour in to every day at Seeds of Hope!


The rest of our week was filled with simple joys, like trips to the playground, playing card games, and walks around the playing field. The other day, while I was taking a walk around the field, and a young girl ran up and joined me. She’s quiet and sweet, and our girls have enjoyed her company. She looked up at me while walking and asked, “Auntie Renae, if you wanted to adopt someone from here, would you get to choose who? ‘Cause I’d like to be adopted.” Oh man…I’m telling you my heart broke in two right there. The bravery it must have taken her to say that desire aloud! Guys, this place is filled with special kids just like her. Spending our days loving on all these kids is such an honor. We are constantly in awe of their strength and sparkle, and how much they love to hang out and have fun.


A few of the boys have discovered that I am the most easily startled human on earth, and have enjoyed hiding behind corners and scaring me every chance they get. The best one yet was when I was drinking coffee at the playground, and someone slowly crept up behind me and said "boo". My coffee went everywhere and I screamed in alarm. We both found that quite funny 😊 Last week three girls here were working on my hair. They added braids and twists to my ponytail. I'm so used to being the one doing the hair, it was nice being on the opposite side!

While we truly are loving being here, life at home continues on. Our church in Abbotsford just ordained Pastor Phil this last Sunday. This is a momentous and exciting time for our church, and we wish we could have been there in person (at least YouTube made it possible for us to watch it after!). We’re grateful for video calls, and emails/messaging that take the edge off of homesickness. We continue to pray for all you back home, and appreciate all prayers that go up on our behalf! This community is a wonderful support to us! Thank you! Till next time!


Love Jon & Renae

529 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page